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Glossary
of Internet Marketing Terms
Affiliate Program: revenue
sharing program where an affiliate web site receives a portion of income
for delivering sales, leads, or traffic to a merchant web site. Algorithm: mathematical formula used by search engines to analyze and score a web page for relevance. Some factors that a search engine algorithm looks at are link popularity, keyword relevance, meta tags, alt tags, and content. Alt Text: HTML
attribute that provides alternative text when non-textual elements, typically
images, cannot be displayed. Anchor Text: text used in the hyperlink when linking to a site or web page. Backlinks: links that point to a web site. Back-end Offers: products/services
you offer to existing customers, i.e. to people who have already bought
a first product from you. C Click-through: click on a link (banner) that drives the visitor to another site. Click-through rate (CTR):
number of people who click on the ad divided by times ad is displayed,
represented in percentages. Example: 1000 people clicks on an ad that
has been displayed 100,000 times: 1000/100,000 x 100= 1%. Copywriting: process
of writing text especially for a web page. Effective web copywriting can
improve a sites position within the search engine results of a given keyword
phrase. Crawler: automated program
that follows links to visit web sites on behalf of search engines to fill
and update their database. Directory: web guide organized by categories containing web sites that have been reviewed and compiled by human editors. Example: Yahoo, Go Guide, Joeant, LookSmart, Zeal, etc. Doorway Page:
a page made specifically to rank well in Search Engines for particular
keywords, serving as an entry point through which visitors pass to the
main content. E Email Ads:
ads that are placed in emails. FFA (Free For All): sites that accept listings with no restriction. Search engines try to ban FFA from their index. Hidden Text: using
the same color characters on the same color background. Your site can
be penalized or banned from the search engine's index for using this technic.
HTML (Hyper Text Markup Language):
code that browsers read in order to display web pages. HTML is the most
common language used to design web pages. Internet Marketing:
any action taken to market a web site or company online. This includes
web site optimization, search engine submission, pay-per-click advertising
and traffic analysis. Keywords: words people use to search in search engines Link Popularity: number
of links that point to a site. Some search engines consider that a site
with many inbound links is more popular. Meta Tags: HTML code designed to give search engine robots instructions. There are many tags available, the most known tags are the "title"," keyword" and "description" tags. Meta search engines: search engine that searches multiple other search engines and combines the results. Example: Mamma, Dogpile, Ixquick. Newsletter: email
sent out to a group of subscribers with relevant information on a topic.
Pay-Per-Click Search Engines: search
engines where businesses can bid for which placement they want.
Web site owners pay the search engines
every time someone clicks on the link of the search engine. Query: word or phrase submitted to a search engine or directory to locate pages on the web. R Robot: automated program
that follows links to visit web sites on behalf of search engines to fill
and update their database. Search Engine: tool
for finding information on the Internet. Search
engines use keywords entered by users to find web sites that contain the
information sought. Click
here to see a list of the most popular search engines. Search Engine Advertising: program that enables companies to place their web sites in whatever position they choose, based on bidding for the position. Search Engine Optimizer (SEO): search engine expert that can help you optimize your web page to get a high ranking. Search Engine Optimization: skill of adding elements to a web site so that search engines will rank it higher for a particular set of keywords. Search Engine Placement:
program that enables companies
to place their web sites in whatever position they choose, based on bidding
for the position. Spam: unsolicited email. Spam is email sent to people that haven't asked to hear from you. The term spam is also used by search engines to describe sites that try to fool the search engines to get a higher ranking by using methods that the search engines disapprove of, for example keyword stuffing. Spider: automated program
that follows links to visit web sites on behalf of search engines to fill
and update their database. Submission: the act of submitting a web page to a search engine or web site to a directory. T U W
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